Medical Prepping in 12 Months

(Please excuse the periods between paragraphs.  For some reason, it is posting without spaces between paragraphs)

There are plenty of lists for prepping for food storage, but I’ve found few for medical prepping.

.

I’m not going to go too much into WHY to prep — reasons are as varied as I-Don’t-Trust-the-Medical-Establishment to Aliens-Are-Taking-Over-the-World to economic collapse, civil war, pandemic, natural disasters, job loss, or any SHTF (stuff hits the fan) scenario of your choice.   I’m an RN (disclaimer: nothing here should be construed as medical advice) and I’m making this plan for my family, so it is suitable for intermediate/advanced practitioners.  I’m also taking into consideration that my husband and teen daughter don’t have any formal medical training, and I want to make our preps useful for them, too.  I include both western medical model and herbal medicine in my preps, so my plan reflects that.
.
The idea for the basic plan came from Medical Prepping in 13 Weeks at ArmageddonMedicine.net  (first post here)  I highly recommend you read that series, as well, since it has a slightly different focus than mine and the more knowledge you have, the better for everyone. Decide on a monthly budget for medical prepping, look over the recommendations for that month, prioritize according to your personal family situation, and buy until your money is done for the month.
.
 If you can’t buy everything, don’t worry about it.  Most of us can’t on the first run through.  Just get what you can, and next month move onto Month 2.  Don’t hang out in Month 1 for 3 months until you’ve gotten everything.  It’s better to be able to treat a variety of issues than be fully stocked on wound care but not have a single pain killer.
.
I am not an expert.
.
Before we begin, there are two books that I already have that I highly recommend everyone get.  I am beginning the months assuming that you already have them, and so won’t include them in my monthly lists.  These books are Where There Is No Doctor by the Hesperian Foundation (they are coming out with a new version, just so you’re aware) and Be Your Own “Doctor” by Rachel Weaver.
.
Be Your Own “Doctor” is a book of herbal remedies told anecdotally.  It also includes first aid and when to go to the doctor.  I use it frequently
.
One more note:  when I designate a book Beginner, that means it is suitable for a beginner’s level of understanding, not that it is beneath someone with more knowledge.   Use Amazon’s lovely “Look Inside” feature, check out books from the library, etc, to decide what is most appropriate for your current level of understanding.
.
At the beginning of each month, I will post a list of suggested books, herbs, otc remedies, and supplies to procure.  Also included will be antibiotics that all of us tropical fish lovers may want to have on hand, and education or things to do.
.
Here’s the plan:
.
Month 1: Focus on Wound Care
.
Month 2: Focus on Pain
.
Month 3: Focus on Infection
.
Month 4: Focus on Nervines, Muscles, & Eyecare
.
Month 5: Focus on Colds & Flu
.
Month 6:  Focus on Dental
.
Month 7:  Focus on Bones
.
Month 8: Focus on Respiratory and Allergy
.
Month 9: Focus on GI
.
Month 10: Focus on Reproductive Health and Perishables
.
Month 11: Focus on Nutrition, Radiation, and Urinary Issues
.
Month 12:  Focus on Mental Health and “Stock for a Doc”
.
We begin on Monday.
This entry was posted in Medical Prepping. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

