How Month 2 played out in my home

Buy a Book:  

general family medical books

I already have the AMA Family Medical Guide (got it at Goodwill) so I instead bought Village Medical Manual, a book that I just found out about last month.  If you think you may ever be in a third-world type situation, this is a great book to get.  It is for educated people, but not medically educated.  If you are clueless when it comes to medical things (the way I am with mechanical), then don’t get this book.  If you feel you have a decent handle on how the body works, then give it a look.

Herbs: 

cloves 
lavender essential oil
peppermint essential oil
bottles and droppers for tinctures
ashwaghanda (immune booster)

I bought 4 oz of cloves, and had lavender and peppermint essential oil on hand already.  I didn’t place an order from Mountain Rose Herbs so didn’t get the ashwaghanda or bottles/droppers.

To Buy: 

aspirin
acetaminophen (Tylenol)
ibuprofen (Motrin)
naproxen sodium (Aleve)
Percogesic — original formulation — if you are lucky enough to find it

I bought extra aspirin and tylenol and decided to pass on the motrin and aleve this go round.  My dh is allergic and I ran out of money for prepping this month, so I didn’t feel that spending on something that doesn’t benefit us all was the best use of my my money.  Still haven’t been able to find the original formulation of Percogesic, but I do have a single bottle on the shelf.

At the end of the month (I’m posting a month behind, so this was actually my June month) we found clearance BC Powder at Goodwill.  I bought 10 boxes for $1.99 each.  My dh relies on this stuff several times a week.

Supplies:

Alcohol for tincture making (Everclear, rum, brandy, not rubbing alcohol)

I was hoping to be able to purchase more Everclear this month, but alas, ’twas not to be.  I used some of my Everclear on hand to make an Eleuthero tincture.

For the Fish –  (we mustn’t forget to keep our beloved tropical fish healthy)

Ciprofloxacin

got it.

Money didn’t seem to go as far this month as it usually does. I think it was the Village Medical Manual, because that used up almost half of my budget.  In my opinion, it was well worth the purchase price, though.

I also see that Doom and Bloom has come out with a 2nd edition of their Survival Medicine Handbook.  From the accounts I’ve read, it’s been much improved, so if you buy it make sure to get the new edition.

This entry was posted in Medical Prepping. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

